July 3, 2008

Classified Ads

I was reading about an article in Japan on classified ads [link] and was reminded of an ad I saw recently although it does not fall into the same category. While there's no odd matchmaking kinda ads like the ones that are prominently mentioned in the abovementioned article, there's an abundance of ads from odd job descriptions, pointless "free" seminars, to questionable products/services. While it is suspicious, those ads do the job. Smart.

Back to the ad I was talking about, this particular ad was about some kind of online job listing that they claim would generate about USD$1000-$3000. Maximum earnings for full time, they say. As sweet as that may sound, there’s a hitch. There was no contact details but only a web address for its potential suckers victims readers, to check it. What makes it more suspicious is that its address is not the generic domain ones but it ends with what looks like a sub domain or folder.
Kindly correct me, if I’m using the wrong jargo to make my point here. While I may have graduated from a Computer degree, I’ve kinda forgotten most of the jargo and terminologies. ^^;
I actually wanted to scan that ad here for a better legit example but unfortunately I realized it has been sent to be “recycled”. All thanks to whoever who “violated” my room. I should’ve scanned it earlier and post along to make my claim legit. To make that worse, I’ve also somehow lost the link. Anyways, here how the link sort of looked like:

http://www.domainname.com/name/

Note that the link above is generic. I am referring to its format or how it looked in the paper.
My first impression on it was that it indicated a personal user or a profile. My guess was correct. The website will lead you to a page where you will register your contact details under that person’s referral. Apparently, the website cannot be accessed directly. Meaning, if you refer to that format above, the text highlighted in blue is removed. For some reason, you must type that in full. That means if I register, I’ll be under his downline so it is like he benefitted from two things: referral and adding members to his/her downline. Lulz.
The system I’d say is some sort of MLM or pyramid like scheme but instead of that previous “get rich” scheme where you don’t need to sell products, this one does but not exclusively. Like I mentioned, members are also rewarded through referrals and gets commission for victims who fell for it and bought the products. I also feel that the members are paid for the contacts they’ve made regardless of whether the user registers, or not since I’ve noticed a tracking cookie. The website may look ugly but for some reason my firewall also detected that it also was trying to install suspicious third party add-ons. Most likely, spyware or adware.
I wonder how much that person gets through his/her dastardly affiliation.

2 comments:

Rush said...

Finally, you made a post! Been visiting your blog everyday man.

Markie Milan said...

Lulz
These days I'm pretty occupied especially with the building of the new house over here so yeah, less posts man. Sides, I gues you'd say I blog when I've nothing better to do ;) Lulz XD